Rohit Sharma Captaincy Record in T20: Rohit Sharma becomes first captain in history to win 13 continuous T20Is

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma has made a new world record by becoming the first captain in the history of cricket to win 13 successive T20 Internationals. 

- Advertisement -

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma has become the first captain in the history of cricket to win 13 continuous T20 Internationals. He achieved this after India beat England by 50 runs in the first T20I to take 1-0 lead in the three-match T20I series at the Rose Bowl, Southampton on July 7, 2022. This was Rohit Sharma’s first match after recovering from COVID-19.

Rohit Sharma had to miss out on India’s rescheduled fifth Test against England at Birmingham after testing positive for COVID-19 and Jasprit Bumrah had led India in his absence. However, the skipper was, deemed fit to lead the team in the T20I series. Hardik Pandya’s allround performance played a key role in India’s victory. Pandya became the first Indian player to take four wickets and score a half-century in a single T20I match.

Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, and Deepak Hooda also scored 24, 39 and 33 runs respectively. These excellent performances took India’s total of 198/8 in the first innings. While bowling later, Pandya took four wickets, spinner Yuzvendra Chahal also picked up 2 wickets along with debutant bowler Arshdeep Singh, who also picked up two wickets and Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel took one to restrict England at 148.